IPL 2019, CSK vs KXIP: Return to victory, beat Chennai by 22 runs

IPL 2019, CSK vs KXIP: Return to victory, beat Chennai by 22 runs

IPL 2019, CSK vs KXIP: Return to victory, beat Chennai by 22 runs

CSK vs KXIP: Chennai: Chennai Super Kings, who were beaten by Mumbai Indians in the last match, defeated Kings XI Punjab by 22 runs on Saturday. Chennai scored 160 runs in the 20 overs losing three wickets. At the same time, the Punjab team could score 138 runs after losing 20 wickets in 20 overs. Sarfaraz Khan (67) scored the highest score for Punjab. He hit 4 fours and two sixes in his 59 balls. At the same time, Lokesh Rahul scored 55 runs in 47 balls with the help of three fours and a six. Apart from these, David Miller contributed 6, Monkey Agarwal (0) and Chris Gayle contributed 5 runs. Mandeep Singh (1 *) and Sam Curran (0 *) returned to Nabada pavilion. Harbhajan Singh and Scott Kugglain got two wickets each from Chennai while Deepak Chahar got one wicket. 

Earlier, winning the toss, batting first, lost three wickets in 20 overs and scored 160 runs. Most runs scored by Fional Duplessis (54) by Chennai. He hit two fours and four sixes in his 38-ball knock. Chennai started to make a quick start. Shane Watson (26) and Duplessis, who came in to start the innings, added 56 runs for the first wicket. Chennai hoped that in the last one, they would be able to reach a strong score, but Ravichandran Ashwin took three wickets and spoiled the rhythm and the team could not stand a big score. Ashwin broke the partnership by dismissing Watson in the 8th over. However, Duplessis kept running from the other end. But even after completing the half-century, he could not stay long.  

Duplessis became the second victim of captain Ashwin. Their wickets fell on the total score of 100. After returning to the Duplessis pavilion, Ashwin dismissed Suresh Raina (17) on the next ball. It was also difficult to reach Chennai’s score of 150 but Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Nabada 37) and Ambati Rayudu (21 not out) shared 60 runs for the fourth wicket to give the team a respectable score. Dhoni scored four fours and a six in his 23-ball knock. At the same time, Rayudu hit a four and a six in his 15-ball knock. Apart from Ashwin, no other bowler could take wickets for Chennai. 

Chennai decided to bat first before winning the toss.  Punjab made two changes in their team in this match. Pajam replaced Chris Gayle and Andrew Tie in the last eleven instead of Hurds Wilson and Mujib-ur-Rehman. At the same time, Chennai made three changes in its team. In place of injured Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur and Mohit Sharma, New Zealand’s Scott Kugelain, Faf du Plessis and Harbhajan Singh were included in the final eleven. Kugelain had a debut match in the IPL, while Duplessis was playing his first match of this season. Chennai had to face defeat in their previous match, while Punjab defeated Delhi Capitals in their last match. 


Chennai: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain / wicketkeeper), Faf du Plessil, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Scott Kugglain and Imran Tahir.

Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Lokesh Rahul (wicketkeeper), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Sam Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Andrew Tie and Murugan Ashwin.


Review Date
Reviewed Item
Author Rating

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *